RSS Feed

Birthday Raps and Reminders

Posted on

The following blog post was written out of sheer writers-block.
It should be read to the tune of the theme song from the impeccable 1990s TV show, “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air”.

ACTION!

Now this is the story all about now
My birthday eve – I remember how
And I’d like to type a minute, send this through the air
I’ll tell you how I kinda wince
When my birthday breathes air.

In Chico, California, I’m amazed
I’ve lived here so long and have certainly aged
Making out, married, finishing up school
And having some kids and wiping up drool
Many birthday highs – lots of them were good
Never got in trouble, go to Neighborhood
I got some wishes not right yet I’m still prepared
To grow older and stay happy despite having bad hair.

I still wake up drab, can’t recognize my rear
The memories are fresh
Despite my advanced years
If anything, I could say things are better than fair
But I’m not, yeah you get it, perfection is rare!

I hold you readers close, all 7 or 8
And I think you’re not shabby,
Let’s hang, someday later!
Thankful for YOU, Chum!
Still wish for great hair
This is my birthday poem
May it find you with flair.

Today has been such a great kick-off for my birthday!

My little family just got back from birthday shopping, there is a tasty birthday breakfast in the works and my coworkers did an amazing job at making me feel like a well-loved birthday princess. What more could a girl ask for?

There are still some things on my “Turning into a Fabulous Grown Up” list that are still unfinished, but hopefully I have lots of birthdays left to tackle them.

Here’s a quick overview, mainly for myself, in case I need to look back and remember what I’ve been working on:

– Don’t run on my own steam. At first, I wanted to write, “Learn how to say no so you don’t feel so overloaded!” but honestly, that wouldn’t really help me. If I am not full of goodness and love, I can’t pour out goodness and love and accomplish anything of value. That truth applies to me no matter how over-committed or under-committed I feel.

– Continue to work on my destined-to-be-viral rap video about Costco. I have the idea. I know people. It just needs to happen.

– Get over my fear of working out. It would be so much easier if I could just be a brat and make fun of exercise all the time, but I really don’t want to spend the rest of my birthdays getting lumpier and lumpier. Now comes the part where I find something that work for me…

– Keep hanging out and getting to know my friends. This past year I have made new friends, renewed relationships with older ones, and continued connecting with those that have always been around me. There are still lots stories to share and even more bottles of wine to enjoy while we do so. I can’t wait!

About Jenny Z

I love to overuse italics, misplaced hyphens and internal dialogue when I write about my usual favorite topic, myself.

Leave a comment